Autism and the DSM-5: Diagnostic Criteria (Section B)

 

Please go to my new blog to read this post

Autism and the DSM 5: Part 3 – Diagnostic Criteria: Section B

4 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you for sharing this and explaining it in a more personal tone.

  2. My cat refuses to sit on my lap.

    He sits on my keyboard instead. Especially when he thinks I ought to stop typing and feed him.

    So you are doubly amazing for dealing with the cat *and* writing this series at the same time. It’s incredibly interesting! Thank you.

  3. From what I’ve observed the “sensory issues” are at the core of autism, that is the hyper- and hypo-sensitivities impact what neural pathways are formed in all stages of development. Maybe wanting to avoid the unexpected or changes in sensory input levels is what causes an autisitic person to prefer routines and be inflexible to abrupt transitions.

    I am so glad I am not alone in finding things to approve of in the DSM-5 autism section. I was beginning to think everyone was jumping on the “Oh, no they left about apsergers bandwagon” without really studying what the new criteria mean. I went through the criteria line by line back in March and wondered what all the fuss was about. http://waitwhatmom.blogspot.com/2013/03/borderlines-canaries-in-coal-mines.html

    Thanks for sharing your personal findings!

  4. […] Autism and the DSM-5: Diagnostic Criteria (Section B): Section B covers restricted and repetitive patterns of behaviour (including interests). […]

Comments are closed.

