The Graphic Was Changed!

You may have been following the correspondence in my previous post about the UK organization, Brookdale Healthcare, that had a graphic on their website that suggested that Autistic people “enjoy being restrained.”

I am so thrilled to announce that they have changed that graphic, removing any reference at all to restraints!

I am so encouraged by this. Many of us were very distressed by that graphic but we kept our cool and engaged in respectful dialogue with the organization and they responded in a considerate and responsible manner. It may be a small victory, but it is encouraging because it suggests that we can effect large victories over time.

Thank you to everyone who was involved in bringing this graphic to the community’s attention and engaging Brookdale Healthcare on the matter.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! That is so cool and so surprising! I’m going to email them a thank you for listening. Thank YOU for your word and work!

    • Thank you! And, yes, I think thanks to them are in order! While we have a right to be listened to (nothing about us without us!) we must never forget to thank those who do listen. Not because they have done something extraordinary, but because they had the decency to do what everyone ought to but so many refuse to.

      • I did send a thanks, and I said just that – that it showed great professionalism to listen, consider and respond when so many don’t, and that it’s greatly appreciated. Also suggested connecting further with the autistic adult community to engage and connect – get the “from the inside out” perspective : )

  2. This is such great news!!! You really were wonderfully insistent, while incredibly respectful!!! How fabulous

  3. This is such excellent news! I have to admit, I am deeply opposed to a few other things still on the graphic (mostly the implication that autistic people should be communicating for social satisfaction instead of communicating to get their needs met!), but that they responded to your (fantastically written) communication is so incredibly encouraging. Thank you for your dedication to this! I certainly wouldn’t have been able to be so articulate and patient. They will be receiving thank-you email from me as well. It is so wonderful to think that as hard as we work to incite change…there really are some people listening!

    • I agree with you; there was much that was problematic with that graphic! I thought about it and decided to focus in on the worst, most offensive statement. I was thinking of a saying, “don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.” In a perfect world, that graphic would be COMPLETELY different. But I was afraid that the importance of that dangerous statement about restraints might get lost in the shuffle if I presented too much, so I chose to hack away at the worst thing . . . for today. There are always more battles on the horizon.

      Thank you or your support and thank you for writing to thank them for changing. Day by day, person by person, we are making our world better.

  4. Congratulations! A huge triumph!

  5. Congratulations Sparrow! Nicely done! I have sent a thank you note to Robert.
    And I would like to say “thank you” to you, and others who acted on this, as well. :)

Comments are closed.

