Is Everyone “a Little Autistic”?

Please read this post on my new website. Thank you!

Is Everyone “a Little Autistic”?

13 responses to this post.

  1. Such a great piece! Since I mostly interact with those on the spectrum (altho I am not) I don’t hear the everyone’s a little autistic thing.

    However, my girls are bipolar and I constantly hear ppl use the term bipolar regarding themselves or objects in a flippant way. It really bothers me bc my girls suffer a lot from their experiences being bipolar.

    I wish ppl understood the gravity of their words.

    • I agree! Too often people speak without being conscious of the people their words are hurting. Honestly, I fear I do it myself as well and am just not yet aware of things I say that I shouldn’t. It’s an ongoing process of unlearning things that have become automatic.

  2. the salvation army comment cracked me up. Every Christmas I get the same thing at Waterloo Station when the Carol Singers are our doing their thing. Go away!!!

  3. All of this is great – but I also worry sometimes that people will think this is the thing I’m doing when I say I think *I* am a little autistic. Not everyone, and not everyone who has meltdowns or gets stressed or doesn’t like loud noises. But me, with a diagnosed autistic child, and a family history of “quirky” people, and a personal history of social awkwardness and obsessions and a habit of memorizing lists of things for fun. I tell people “if there’s a spectrum from neurotypical to autistic, then some people are just barely over the border into neurotypical.” I believe I’m one of those people, even if not everyone is.

    • What you may be trying to say is that you are part of the Broad Autistic Phenotype (BAP). Many people have an autistic genotype who aren’t autistic. Genotype means what your genetics are and phenotype means how those genetics are expressed. So those of us who are Autistic have an autistic genotype *and* an autistic phenotype.

      Autism is genetic and sometimes we inherited our genetics from a family member who is also Autistic (my father is not diagnosed, but he has strong autistic traits and probably would be diagnosed if he were born much later than he was.) Other times we inherited our autistic genetics from a family member who is not autistic. (Autistic genetics can also arise spontaneously through genetic mutations rather than inheritance.)

      But some Autistics inherited autistic genetics from a parent whose autism is only slightly expressed — a BAP. BAP is not autism, but it’s not completely neurotypical, either. It’s kind of like a shadow of autism.

  4. Posted by mooncatadams on December 6, 2015 at 2:10 am

    As per usual, your perspicacity is eruditely and articulately expressed. Or, to eschew the Latin forms and use Anglo-Saxon terms instead, (as is my preference), Well said! :-)

  5. Well said, thank you!

  6. It’s very a semantic statement. I am clearly aware that most people show some autistic tendencies/traits. The difference is usually the level of function and the combination of sensory problems. BUT, once you know the traits and tendencies, it’s hard to not tell the parents of the little kid bouncing around on edge like Tigger that they need to keep an eye on ASD as a possible issue. They never want to hear it.

  7. If you are truly autistic, living in a world that is not, you know the difference and the difficulties. The non autistic people don’t. They can appreciate, observe, mimic, learn but they are not immersed, with no choice. I am autistic. Because of that, I have a specific profession that I created to make maximum use of my autism. Most of my clients are not autistic, and I do grow weary of the broader world saying things that diminishes and exacerbates the reality and difficulties of autism. I perceive the world differently to most. It is my different perception that makes me great at what I do and also means I am not capable of running a checkout or working in a ‘normal’ job. Thus, I have my own business, and am my own employer. If you are a wine taster, someone who has a good nose for the under notes of wine has similar skills, but does not have the full spectrum. Respect Autism. Don’t diminish it. If everybody is ‘special’, then nobody is and we are back to the beginning.

  8. […] to Brookings/AEI poverty report (Bruenig kills it) “All You Americans Are Fired” Is Everyone “a Little Autistic”? To Give or Not To Give? The Sports Bubble Is About to Pop Presidential candidates ignore the costs […]

  9. Salvation army bells SHOULD be illegal. Or they should have better bells like those nice bell choir ones instead of bells that make me hurt.

Comments are closed.

