Autism and the Pursuit of Happiness

a confernce nametag with a blue butterfy and the words Sparrow Rose Jones Keynote Presenter Autism and the Pursuit of Happiness

This post has been moved to the new Unstrange Mind blog. Please go there to read it and other posts. Thank you! Sparrow Rose Jones

AUTISM AND THE PURSUIT OF HAPPINESS

10 responses to this post.

  1. This is lovely. Startling and sad and beautiful, too. Hopeful.

  2. This is a beautiful post. I was so excited to hear that you consider Asheville a special place. My husband is in the military, and we move all the time, but he’s retiring soon, We’ve bought land near Asheville, because we felt drawn to it for so many reasons. I didn’t know about the Autistic community though. My 9 year old son is Autistic, and now I’m even more in love with Asheville, knowing that he’ll have community there! Can you give me any contact info for people we should reach out to there? We won’t be moving for a while, but we do go up frequently, and would love to start finding our place and our people. Thank you so much, as always, for your writing. It has helped me be a better parent.

    • I mostly know the adult Autistic community here, but there are lots of things for kids and their parents. I know someone very active with Family Support Network and they do good stuff, including social connections. There’s also the Therapeutic Recreation Program (part of the Division of Parks and Recreation in Asheville) with special need sports and other get-togethers for kids. Near Asheville, in Hendersonville, is a parent group called The Quirkies with pot lucks and stuff. Also Autism Society of North Carolina and TEACCH have good social groups and other supports. Welcome to Asheville. I think you made a great choice!

  3. Love this piece and this quote; “I realized that the people who do not connect with the idea of me as a basically happy person are the people who rarely see me happy, often because they, themselves, are sources of unhappiness in my life. It has taught me to re-examine my relationship with anyone who does not share my view of myself as being a naturally happy person.” While a comment for all of us, the fact that Ms. Jones is speaking about happiness and autism is important, this creates a bookmark in time indicating a critical shift of consciousness in, may I say, disability. It is sort of a coming-out and owning the conversation about quality of life, of happiness.

  4. […] After visualizing all the things and feelings about the bullish of creating happiness, I was somewhat angry. I wanted to write that this viewpoint is bullish. That sometimes you can’t create happiness. I wanted to write that I stated to find happiness only after the university psychiatrist (who saved my life*) diagnosed me with depression and gave me pills, and I was able to find interest in things again. Only after some extensive work with my psychologist (who specialized and worked with autistics*) I started to feel like I am allowed to be happy. The pills changed my life. The therapy helped me find happiness. The fact that I no longer lived with my abusive family, adopted rats with my nesting partner, could eat in the amounts I wanted and begun to accept myself as autistic helped as well. […]

  5. Posted by autisticaplanet on February 16, 2016 at 3:00 pm

    I also like the fact you used Scripture to make your case. Ultimate acceptance comes from knowing Jesus cares for those of us who trust in Him. Sadly, even ,my relationship with God has got lost-caught up in what people think of me.
    One of the things that make me happy is a rocking chair-one in every room of the house I spend a lot of time in.

    • I was quoting Martin Luther King and he was quoting scripture. I’m glad you liked it. I think your relationship with God is still there and the world was too loud, but if you listen for the still, small voice you will see that God was patiently waiting for you all along.

      All those rocking chairs sound nice! One day I would like to have a rocking horse my size.

  6. Posted by stella rose on February 28, 2016 at 8:26 pm

    It is wonderful to find another person who wants a grownup-sized rocking horse. I’ve always loved rocking horses, and more unusual rocking animals (dragons, dinosaurs,giraffes). Rocking is my main stim. I want so much to have one. There are a few out there, but nearly all are a few thousand dollars. Maybe I could have a woodworker or carpenter make a very simple one? I can dream.

Comments are closed.

