Come to my Birthday Party!

a person on the beach, holding baloons, leaping high with joy

Update: due to illness, I won’t be going to South Carolina for my birthday after all. If you go, have a banana split in my honor, okay? Apologies for the inconvenience. I’m still planning to visit Surfside Beach later, just not right now.

I am inviting the world to my birthday party.

I am planning to spend the first weekend in March (4th, 5th, and 6th) celebrating my 49th birthday in Surfside Beach, South Carolina. In cooperation with Champion Autism Network, Surfside Beach, which is just south of Myrtle Beach, has proclaimed itself to be the first autism-friendly travel destination where Autistic people and their families can enjoy a quieter, less crowded, family-friendly beach in a town trained to understand and accommodate Autistic people with a judgment-free attitude.

Let me know if you’re coming so we can celebrate together! Bring the kids: they are VERY welcome here! I don’t have specific plans yet, although I might be doing a presentation. I’m definitely going to have a banana split. And I’m going to check out Surfside Beach so I can report back to everyone about food choices, general atmosphere, and autism-friendly holiday resources. And I’d really love to see any of y’all there!

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. I will be so happy to read your review of it, though I won´t be able to attend. Thank you for inviting us! Happy Birthday!

  2. I’d be interested to see how they deal with the delicate balance between “need to allow stimming” and “need to help people with sensory overload”. Can’t wait to hear your review after the fact – I would love to check it out and write one of my own but finances will not allow at this time. Happy early Birthday!

  3. I hope it’s awesome and you have a wonderful time! I can’t wait to read about it!

Comments are closed.

