Autistic Shutdown

shutdown

It looks like caution tape because autistic shutdown is something that should be treated with caution. A shutdown now and then won’t hurt, but regularly repeated over time, shutdown can lead to neurological damage, especially in children.

Please read this post on my new web site. Thank you!

Autistic Shutdown Alters Brain Function

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. This is explained so brilliantly, thank you very much for the insight, it definitely helps. Our daughter is definitely more likely to shutdown than to meltdown.

  2. Posted by autisticaplanet on March 30, 2016 at 8:20 pm

    I’m sorry you had to go through meltdown/shutdown. thank you for writing about shutdown. It’s less known to me. I have the meltdowns. Screaming, swearing and harming myself and lashing out at everything in my reach. It takes a full day to process and recover. This is why I avoid things I already know I can’t tolerate. I don’t want to wind up in jail for hurting someone or a psych unit for hurting myself again. Now that both my parents are gone and I am alone much of the time, I use extra caution and don’t go outside much or open windows unless someone is with me.

  3. Posted by autisticaplanet on March 30, 2016 at 8:21 pm

    Reblogged this on autisticaplanet blogs and commented:
    Autistic Shutdown
    Posted March 30, 2016 by unstrangemind

  4. Posted by autisticaplanet on March 30, 2016 at 8:23 pm

    I couldn’t imagine boot camp and having to learn to fire a gun!

  5. Thank you for putting this so succinctly. I recently spent 5 days in hospital where I couldn’t speak or move for 2 days. Even though this was the case every sense in my body was hightened, it was agony. But, I couldn’t let anyone know. Shutdowns, for me are more expressive of what I experience than meltdown. Meltdown gives the wrong picture for me. Currently I’m trying to stay between the lines so my senses are coping and I can too. Wenn

Comments are closed.

